HomeJobCosts

Pergo vs SmartCore: What Each Costs Installed, and Which Pergo Line Is the Real Rival

Based on aggregated retail and installation data, Pergo laminate costs about $4.20 to $6.30 per square foot installed and SmartCore vinyl plank about $5.30 to $7.40. On a 400-square-foot room that is roughly $1,680 to $2,515 for Pergo laminate against $2,120 to $2,955 for SmartCore — a difference of about $440, and all of it is material. Installation labor is the same for both, because both are click-lock floating floors priced at the same per-square-foot rate.

That $440 is the answer only to half of the question. “Pergo vs SmartCore” usually compares two different kinds of floor: Pergo is best known for laminate, which has a wood-fiber core, and SmartCore is vinyl plank, which does not. Pergo also sells vinyl, and its vinyl line — DuraCraft — costs the same as SmartCore on the shelf, carries a similar wear surface and sits in the same store. So this page runs two comparisons:

  1. Pergo laminate vs SmartCore — the comparison most shoppers are actually making. Cheaper to buy, but it trades roughly $440 of savings against a water event that can cost several times that.
  2. Pergo DuraCraft vs SmartCore — the like-for-like one. Near-identical price, near-identical install, and the differences sit in the spec sheet and the warranty wording.

The generic category comparison — every laminate against every vinyl plank — is on the laminate vs vinyl plank cost page. This page is about the two brands, the specific lines, and what each one costs in a real room over its life.

Two Brands, Two Different Shelves

Pergo: a Mohawk brand that sells three categories

Pergo is a brand of Mohawk Industries. Its own catalog splits into laminate, resilient/vinyl and hardwood, and within those it runs ten named product lines, several of which are sold through only one retailer. The wording in the table is Pergo’s own, taken from its line pages.

Pergo lineCategoryWhere Pergo lists itWater feature, as Pergo describes it
TimberCraftLaminateLowe’s onlyWetProtect — water-tight joints, waterproof finish, lifetime surface and subfloor warranty
ProLaminateLowe’s onlyWetProtect
Pro+LaminateLowe’sWetProtect, plus a lifetime pet scratch warranty
ElementsLaminateNot stated on the line pageOriginals tier: 10-year waterproof; Preferred and Ultra tiers: lifetime WetProtect
Outlast+LaminateThe Home DepotSpillProtect — tight locking joints and a waterproof surface coating that keep spills on the surface
XP / XP+LaminateThe Home DepotEntry tier listed as “24 hour water resistant”; step-up tier with SpillProtect
DuraCraftLuxury vinylLowe’sWetProtect; 22 mil wear layer
ExtremeLuxury vinylNot stated on the line pageWetProtect Gold “floodproof” warranty, worded to cover leaks and minor floods “from all directions”
EverCraftHybrid resilient (PVC-free)Lowe’sWetProtect; lifetime pet scratch warranty
FusionHybrid resilient (PVC-free)The Home DepotWaterproof surface and water-tight joints

Two things fall out of this. First, “Pergo” is not a price or a spec — it is ten products spanning two core materials. Second, the laminate lines’ water protection is engineered around keeping water on top of the plank; only one line, the Extreme vinyl, has a warranty worded around water arriving from any direction. That distinction becomes a dollar figure further down.

SmartCore: a Lowe’s-exclusive vinyl line

Every SmartCore vinyl plank product in the Lowe’s listing sampled in August 2026 — 40 of them — was tagged as a Lowe’s exclusive, and the product names carry the sub-brand “By COREtec Floors.” The full COREtec range is sold through flooring dealers rather than Lowe’s, and prices from a higher base: its cheapest line, Pro Classics, carries the same 20 mil wear layer as SmartCore Pro at a $4.09 per square foot dealer price, and the COREtec flooring cost data prices every current COREtec line from there up to $9.69. The line splits into four families:

SmartCore familyWear layerPlank thicknessInstall methodCommercial warranty on sampled product
SmartCore (5-in planks)12 mil6.5 mmClick-lock, attached pad15-year limited, plus limited lifetime residential
SmartCore Ultra / Ultra XL12 milnot stated on listingClick-lock, attached pad—
SmartCore Pro20 mil6 mmClick-lock, attached pad20-year limited, plus limited lifetime residential
SmartCore (7-in, 22 mil)22 mil7.5 mmClick-lock or glue-down, attached pad30-year limited, plus limited lifetime residential

Across the whole 40-product listing, 18 products carry a 12 mil wear layer, 4 carry 20 mil and 18 carry 22 mil; 38 of the 40 list underlayment as included, and 18 of the 40 can be glued down as well as clicked. Lowe’s product copy describes the 22 mil line as WPC construction — a foamed vinyl core — which matters for dents. SmartCore also sells an engineered hardwood line, SmartCore Naturals, which is a different product category again and is not what most “Pergo vs SmartCore” searches mean.

The Like-for-Like Matchup: DuraCraft vs SmartCore

Put the vinyl products side by side and the brand gap nearly disappears. The table uses individual products sampled from Lowe’s listings in 2026; shelf prices move with promotions and region, so read them as a snapshot of where each line sits rather than a quote.

SpecPergo DuraCraft (sampled)SmartCore Pro (sampled)SmartCore 22 mil (sampled)SmartCore 12 mil (sampled)
CategoryLuxury vinyl plankLuxury vinyl plankLuxury vinyl plank (WPC)Luxury vinyl plank
Wear layer22 mil (other DuraCraft listings 20 mil)20 mil22 mil12 mil
Thickness6 mm6 mm7.5 mm6.5 mm
InstallClick-lock floatingClick-lock floatingClick-lock or glue-downClick-lock floating
Attached padYesYesYesYes
WarrantyLifetime residential / 30-year commercialLimited lifetime residential / 20-year limited commercialLimited lifetime residential / 30-year limited commercialLimited lifetime residential / 15-year limited commercial
Shelf price$3.19/sq ft$3.69/sq ft$3.69/sq ft$3.19/sq ft

Read across the rows and the only material differences are plank thickness (7.5 mm on SmartCore’s 22 mil line against 6 mm elsewhere, which bridges minor subfloor flaws better), the glue-down option on that same SmartCore line, and the commercial warranty term, which runs from 15 to 30 years depending on which product is on the box. On a 400-square-foot room, the $0.50 per square foot gap between the $3.19 and $3.69 products is about $220 of material once waste is included — smaller than the swing between two installers’ quotes for the same room.

Some Pergo lines carry a term SmartCore’s listings do not state: a lifetime pet scratch warranty, which Pergo attaches to EverCraft and Fusion (its PVC-free hybrid lines) and to Pro+ laminate — not to DuraCraft. It is a warranty term, not a hardness rating; what it covers on a claim is in the warranty document, not the marketing line.

Shelf Prices at the One Store That Sells Both

Lowe’s is the only chain that stocks SmartCore, and it also stocks both Pergo laminate and Pergo vinyl, which makes its listings the cleanest like-for-like price sample available. The price-band counts below are read from Lowe’s own “price per sq. ft.” filters on three listings sampled between January and August 2026.

ListingProducts$1.00–$1.99$2.00–$2.99$3.00–$3.99$4.00–$4.99
Pergo laminate50137111
Pergo vinyl plank49—6412
SmartCore vinyl plank4012343

The pattern is clean: Pergo laminate clusters about $1 per square foot below both vinyl products, and Pergo vinyl and SmartCore cluster in the same band. The laminate listing also shows what that dollar buys: of the 40 Pergo laminate products carrying an AC rating, 29 were AC4 and 11 AC3; 33 of the 50 were 10 mm thick, 15 were 12 mm and 2 were 14 mm; and 44 of the 50 were tagged waterproof.

Two cautions sit on these numbers. Most of the products in each listing carried a running promotion at the time of sampling — 30 of 40 SmartCore products and 33 of 50 Pergo laminate products — so the shelf price on a given week can sit a band lower. And the per-square-foot price excludes sales tax, delivery and the roughly 10 percent waste allowance an installer orders, all of which are added in the room figures below.

What Each Costs Installed, Room by Room

The installed figures on this page are built from two inputs: the shelf-price band each brand clusters in, and a labor rate that does not depend on the brand. They are cross-checked against the site’s project data for the two categories:

Project dataTypical job totalMaterialsLabor
Laminate installation$900–$3,200 (mid $1,800)$300–$1,400 (mid $700)$600–$1,800 (mid $1,100)
Vinyl plank installation$1,500–$5,500 (mid $3,000)$700–$2,500 (mid $1,400)$600–$2,700 (mid $1,400)

The vinyl labor band reaches higher at the top because it covers glue-down installs, which run $3 to $8 per square foot in labor; laminate is laid floating. For a click-lock floating install — how both Pergo laminate and nearly every SmartCore plank goes down — aggregated labor data puts the rate at roughly $2 to $3 per square foot for either, and that is the rate used below. Material is priced at each brand’s dominant band with 10 percent added for waste.

Room sizePergo laminate materialsSmartCore materialsLabor (either brand)Pergo laminate installedSmartCore installedGap
200 sq ft (bedroom)$440–$660$660–$880$400–$600$840–$1,260$1,060–$1,480$220
400 sq ft (living + dining)$880–$1,315$1,320–$1,755$800–$1,200$1,680–$2,515$2,120–$2,955$440
600 sq ft (open main floor)$1,320–$1,975$1,980–$2,635$1,200–$1,800$2,520–$3,775$3,180–$4,435$660

Pergo’s vinyl lines price the same as SmartCore here, because they sit in the same $3 to $4 shelf band — so the SmartCore column doubles as the DuraCraft column. Per square foot, the table works out to $4.20 to $6.30 installed for Pergo laminate and $5.30 to $7.40 for SmartCore or Pergo vinyl.

The gap column is the whole brand decision in one number: about $1.10 per square foot of floor, or $110 per 100 square feet, and it does not grow with labor. A bigger room widens it; a more expensive installer does not.

What the Quote Adds That the Shelf Price Does Not

A shelf price is one line of a flooring quote. These are the lines that sit beside it, and none of them depends on which brand is on the box — they are the same whether the plank is Pergo or SmartCore.

On a 400-square-foot carpeted room that needs carpet removal and trim but no leveling, those lines add roughly $550 to $1,200 to either brand’s installed figure.

Where Each One Fails, in Dollars

Both brands are sold as waterproof, scratch-resistant and pet-friendly. The figures below price what happens when that claim runs out — the failure each floor is physically more exposed to, and the cost to put it right. The repair costs are the site’s aggregated figures from the water damaged floor repair and most durable flooring data.

Water that gets under the floor

A spill on top of the floor is the easy case, and both brands handle it: Pergo’s WetProtect and SpillProtect lines are built to hold water on the surface long enough to wipe it up. The expensive case is water that arrives underneath or through the seams over hours — a dishwasher supply line, a toilet overflow found the next morning, a washing machine hose. Then the core material decides the bill.

Scenario: 400 sq ft floating floor, water under the planksPergo laminateSmartCore (or Pergo DuraCraft)
What the core doesWood-fiber core absorbs water and swells at the joints; swelling does not reverse on dryingVinyl core does not absorb water
Typical repair pathTear out and replaceLift planks, dry the subfloor, relay the same planks
Tear-out$400–$800 ($1–$2/sq ft)—
Flooring cost$1,680–$2,515 (new floor, installed)$400–$1,200 (lift, dry, relay at $1–$3/sq ft)
Flooring line after the event$2,080–$3,315$400–$1,200

Drying the room — extraction, dehumidifiers, air movers — is left out of both columns because it costs the same under either floor. What remains is a difference of roughly $1,700 to $2,100 on the flooring line alone.

Set that against the $440 Pergo laminate saves at install on the same room, and the break-even is simple arithmetic: if the chance of one under-floor water event during the floor’s life is higher than about 1 in 4 to 1 in 5 ($440 divided by $1,680 to $2,115), the SmartCore floor is the cheaper one to own. In a kitchen, laundry room or full bathroom — the rooms with a supply line and an appliance — that threshold is not a high bar. In a bedroom it is.

This is the uninsured case. Pergo’s WetProtect lines carry a lifetime surface and subfloor warranty; if a claim pays, the laminate figure shrinks to whatever the warranty leaves uncovered. A warranty’s exclusions sit in the warranty document rather than the product page, and the table above is the cost when a claim does not apply. Among Pergo’s line pages, only Extreme — a vinyl line — carries warranty wording aimed at water from “all directions.” The wider picture, every floor type ranked by what a leak costs, is on the best waterproof flooring page.

Dents and point loads

This is where the vinyl products give ground. A refrigerator on its feet, a piano or a loaded bookcase concentrates hundreds of pounds on a few square inches, and a foamed vinyl core — the WPC construction Lowe’s describes on SmartCore’s 22 mil line — can take a permanent indentation under that load. Laminate’s fiberboard core is harder and resists indentation better, though a dropped heavy object can chip a laminate plank’s edge.

The repair is the same for both, because both are floating: unclick the floor from the nearest wall back to the damaged plank, swap it, re-click. Aggregated repair data puts that at $150 to $450 per incident, and it depends on having a spare box of the same product — both brands’ lines turn over, so a matching plank bought later is not guaranteed. Setting aside 5 to 10 percent extra at install is roughly $40 to $120 of Pergo laminate or $60 to $160 of SmartCore on a 400-square-foot job.

Scratches, claws and grit

Abrasion is laminate’s strongest property. Pergo laminate’s wear surface is rated on the AC scale, and 29 of the 40 AC-rated Pergo products in the sampled listing were AC4, the grade rated for general commercial traffic. SmartCore’s wear layer is measured in mils: 12 mil is the standard residential spec and 20 to 22 mil the heavier grade. The scales do not convert into each other — the most durable flooring page explains why — but both top grades are the ones a household with large dogs is paying for.

The price of that choice is small. Within SmartCore, the step from a 12 mil product to a 20 or 22 mil one was $0.50 per square foot in the sampled listings — about $220 on a 400-square-foot room. Within Pergo laminate, AC4 is already the majority of the shelf. Urine is the other pet failure and it follows the water table above: it pools at seams, and at a seam a fiberboard core swells where a vinyl core does not. The best flooring for pets guide prices a repeated accident on each floor type.

Sun and fading

Neither brand publishes a fade-resistance figure a buyer can compare; Pergo describes several laminate lines as “fade proof,” and SmartCore’s listings do not state a rating. The cost consequence is what both floors share: neither can be sanded or refinished, so a floor that fades or discolors in the shape of a window is fixed by replacing the affected run of planks — the same $150 to $450 unclick-and-swap as a dent for a small patch, or the full room figure from the table above if the whole floor has shifted color.

Cost Per Year of Service

Divide the installed cost by the years the floor stays down and the $440 gap shrinks to a few dollars a month. Based on aggregated data, laminate typically lasts 15 to 20 years and vinyl plank 10 to 20 years in residential use; by grade, AC4 laminate runs 20 to 25 years, as set out in how long laminate flooring lasts. The table uses a 400-square-foot room at the middle of each brand’s range: $2,100 for Pergo laminate and $2,540 for SmartCore.

Years in servicePergo laminate per yearSmartCore per yearDifference per year
10$210$254$44
15$140$169$29
20$105$127$22
20, with one under-floor water event$209–$271$147–$187laminate costs $62–$84 more

The bottom row adds each floor’s post-event flooring bill from the water table, spread over the same 20 years. Without a water event, Pergo laminate is $22 to $44 a year cheaper to own than SmartCore. With one, the order flips and SmartCore is $62 to $84 a year cheaper. Per square foot, a 20-year dry-room life works out to about $0.26 per square foot per year for Pergo laminate and $0.32 for SmartCore. Every other floor type is ranked the same way on the cheapest flooring options page.

A long warranty does not change these numbers. A “limited lifetime residential” warranty is a statement about one layer of the plank under the conditions its document lists; a residential floor is usually replaced because it looks worn, dented or faded, not because a warranty failure occurred.

Labor: The Same Click, Different Details

For a crew, Pergo laminate and SmartCore are the same job: acclimate the cartons, check the subfloor, lay a floating floor from one wall with expansion gaps at the edges, undercut the door jambs, trim out. That is why the labor line is identical in every table on this page. The differences are small and specific:

DetailPergo laminateSmartCore
Locking systemPergo’s patented Uniclic joint on its WetProtect laminate linesClick-lock (“interlocking”) on all 40 products
Glue-down optionNo — laid floatingYes on 18 of 40 products (the 22 mil products in the samples)
Attached padTimberCraft, Pro, Pro+, Elements38 of 40 products
Typical project duration (site project data)1–3 days2–5 days
Thickest plank in this comparison12 mm (TimberCraft); 14 mm on 2 products7.5 mm (22 mil line)

The duration difference in the project data reflects the vinyl category as a whole, including glue-down jobs and larger typical projects; a floating SmartCore bedroom goes down as fast as a Pergo laminate one. The full time breakdown by floor type, including acclimation, is on the flooring installation time page.

DIY math

Because the labor line is brand-neutral, the DIY saving is too. On a 400-square-foot room, a simple floating install avoids about $800 to $1,200 of labor for either brand — roughly two to three times the entire brand gap. One-time tools and supplies run about $75 to $200: a laminate cutter or saw ($20 to $40 a day to rent), a tapping block, pull bar and spacers ($15 to $30), and hand tools. The economics turn against DIY in the same places for both: stairs, rooms that need leveling first, and — for SmartCore’s 22 mil lines — a glue-down install, which is less forgiving of a mistake than a click joint that can be unlocked and relaid.

City-Adjusted: Labor Moves, the Brand Gap Does Not

Flooring material is priced broadly nationally, while installation labor follows local trade wages. The table applies each metro’s labor factor to the 400-square-foot mid-range room: $1,100 of Pergo laminate or $1,540 of SmartCore, plus $1,000 of labor either way.

City Labor Adjustment Factor Pergo Laminate, 400 sq ft RoomSmartCore, 400 sq ft RoomLabor a DIY Install Avoids vs. National
Minneapolis, MN 1.27 $2,370$2,810$1,270 +27%
Philadelphia, PA 1.12 $2,220$2,660$1,120 +12%
Denver, CO 1.07 $2,170$2,610$1,070 +7%
Las Vegas, NV 1.01 $2,110$2,550$1,010 +1%
Charlotte, NC 0.92 $2,020$2,460$920 −8%
Tampa, FL 0.87 $1,970$2,410$870 −13%

Mid-range 400 sq ft room: materials at each brand's dominant shelf-price band plus 10% waste, held at the national figure; floating-install labor scaled by the metro factor.

Labor adjustment factors are derived from BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025): the median ratio of local to national hourly wages across the trades that do this work. How this is calculated.

The brand gap is the same $440 in every row, because it is a material gap. What changes by city is the labor column — and with it the value of doing the install yourself, which in the higher-wage metros is worth more than twice the difference between the two brands. The methodology page documents how each metro factor is measured from wage data.

Look, Feel and Sound Underfoot

Most of what separates these floors in a showroom is not on a price tag, but some of it does turn into a line item.

The wood is printed on both. Pergo markets its laminate as “laminated wood,” which describes the construction, not the surface: the grain is a printed image under a clear wear layer, on a wood-fiber core. SmartCore’s grain is also a printed film, on a vinyl core. Neither is solid wood, and neither can be sanded. Pergo spends its product copy on surface texture — TimberCraft’s UltraDef technology is described as recreating “knots, cracks and graining,” and the Elements Ultra tier as “up to 75 layers of texture.” On the SmartCore side, the Lowe’s listing splits the line between 23 products with a beveled edge and 17 with a pressed bevel, the detail that makes a plank read as individual boards rather than a sheet.

Vinyl is softer and quieter; laminate is harder. A fiberboard core over a thin pad gives a firm, slightly hollow sound under hard-soled shoes, and a vinyl core — especially a foamed WPC one — gives a softer, more muted step. That same softness is what lets a WPC core dent under a point load, so the feel and the dent row in the failure table are one property seen from two sides.

Sound rules can add a line. Some condominium and homeowner associations set a minimum impact-sound rating for hard floors on upper levels. Where an attached pad does not meet it, a separate acoustic underlayment runs about $0.80 to $1.50 per square foot — roughly $320 to $600 on 400 square feet, the same for either brand, and on its own close to the whole brand gap.

Emissions certification. All 40 SmartCore products in the sampled Lowe’s listing were tagged GREENGUARD Gold certified, a third-party indoor-air emissions label. Pergo positions two of its lines on material content instead: EverCraft and Fusion are described as PVC-free, with 70 percent total recycled content and an 80 percent renewable core. Neither claim changes the installed cost; both are the sort of spec that differs by line within a brand more than between the two brands.

Room by Room: Where Each Floor Is Exposed

The same data, sorted by the room the floor goes into. None of this is a verdict on either brand; it is where each floor’s weak property gets tested and what that test costs.

RoomWhat gets testedPergo laminate exposureSmartCore / DuraCraft exposure
BedroomLight abrasion, furnitureLow — AC4 is more than a bedroom testsLow — 12 mil is the residential spec
Living / diningFurniture point loads, sun, traffic lanesLow; chips at edges under dropped weightDents under heavy point loads, most on foamed cores
Hallway / entryGrit abrasion, wet bootsStrong on abrasion; wet boots are surface water20–22 mil holds up; 12 mil wears faster in a lane
KitchenAppliance supply lines, dropped pansThe $2,080–$3,315 water row appliesThe $400–$1,200 water row applies; dents from dropped pans
Laundry / full bathStanding and under-floor waterHighest exposure in the houseLow for the plank; the subfloor still needs drying
Basement on a slabMoisture from below, occasional seepageWater from below is outside the “keep it on the surface” designPlank tolerates it; vapor barrier still needed

For kitchens specifically — the room where the water row and the dent row meet — the kitchen flooring cost data prices every floor type against both. For below-grade rooms, the basement flooring guide covers slab moisture testing and what each floor does when the slab gets wet.

The two categories behind these brands have full cost pages of their own: laminate flooring installation at $900 to $3,200 for a typical job, priced by AC rating and thickness, and vinyl plank installation at $1,500 to $5,500, priced by wear layer and install method. The category-level trade-off, independent of brand, is on laminate vs vinyl plank cost. When water has already reached the floor, the water damaged floor repair page prices the whole cost stack from drying to joists. Every other floor type, with the calculator pre-set for flooring, is on the flooring cost hub, and the methodology page explains how the national ranges and the city adjustment are built.

Questions

Is Pergo laminate or vinyl?
Both. Pergo's own catalog is split into laminate, resilient/vinyl and hardwood. Its laminate lines include TimberCraft, Pro, Pro+, Elements, Outlast+ and XP; its vinyl and hybrid resilient lines include DuraCraft, Extreme, EverCraft and Fusion. Most searches that compare Pergo with SmartCore picture Pergo laminate, which puts a wood-fiber-core floor against an all-vinyl one. The product that sits in the same category as SmartCore is Pergo DuraCraft.
Which is cheaper, Pergo or SmartCore?
Pergo laminate is cheaper on the shelf; Pergo vinyl is not. In Lowe's online listings sampled in 2026, 37 of 50 Pergo laminate products were priced at $2.00 to $2.99 per square foot, while 34 of 40 SmartCore products and 41 of 49 Pergo vinyl products sat at $3.00 to $3.99. On a 400-square-foot room that works out to roughly $1,680 to $2,515 installed for Pergo laminate and $2,120 to $2,955 for SmartCore, a gap of about $440 that is entirely material.
What is the Pergo equivalent of SmartCore?
Pergo DuraCraft. Both are waterproof luxury vinyl planks sold at Lowe's, both click together as floating floors with an attached pad, and both land in the same $3 to $4 per square foot retail band. A sampled DuraCraft plank listed a 22 mil wear layer, 6 mm thickness and a lifetime residential and 30-year commercial warranty at $3.19 per square foot; a sampled SmartCore Pro plank listed 20 mil, 6 mm and a lifetime residential and 20-year commercial warranty at $3.69.
Who makes SmartCore flooring and where is it sold?
SmartCore is a Lowe's exclusive. Every one of the 40 SmartCore vinyl plank products in the Lowe's listing sampled in August 2026 was tagged as a Lowe's exclusive, and the product names carry the line 'By COREtec Floors'. Pergo, by contrast, is a Mohawk Industries brand sold at Lowe's, at The Home Depot and through the retailers in Pergo's own dealer locator, with different lines at each.
Is Pergo laminate as waterproof as SmartCore?
Not in the same way. SmartCore's core is vinyl, so the plank itself does not absorb water. Pergo's laminate protection is described by Pergo as keeping water on the surface through sealed, tight-locking joints and a waterproof finish, backed by a surface and subfloor warranty on its WetProtect lines. The difference shows up when water gets underneath the floor rather than onto it: floating vinyl planks can be lifted, dried and relaid for roughly $1 to $3 per square foot, while a laminate core that has absorbed water is generally replaced.
Which lasts longer, Pergo or SmartCore?
Based on aggregated data, laminate typically lasts 15 to 20 years and vinyl plank 10 to 20 years in residential use, so the brands overlap. The measurable spec is the wear surface: 29 of the 40 AC-rated Pergo laminate products in the sampled Lowe's listing were AC4, while SmartCore splits between a 12 mil wear layer (18 of 40 products) and 20 to 22 mil (22 of 40). Over 20 years a 400-square-foot room works out to about $105 a year for Pergo laminate and $127 for SmartCore, before any water damage.
Can Pergo and SmartCore be installed without a contractor?
Both are click-lock floating floors with an attached pad on most products, so both are among the more DIY-accessible floors. The labor a DIY install avoids is the same for either brand, about $2 to $3 per square foot for a simple floating job, or roughly $800 to $1,200 on a 400-square-foot room, against about $75 to $200 in one-time tools. Stairs, subfloor leveling and the glue-down option on some SmartCore lines are where DIY time and error rates climb.
Does installation labor cost more for Pergo or for SmartCore?
Neither, on a standard job. A floating click-lock install is priced by the square foot and by the room, not by the brand on the box, and aggregated labor data puts a simple floating install of either at about $2 to $3 per square foot. Labor diverges only when the job diverges: glue-down vinyl runs roughly $3 to $8 per square foot in labor, and stairs are priced per step rather than per square foot.

Related Flooring guides

How the scale is built

Base ranges

Metro adjustment

Labor adjustment factors are measured from BLS metropolitan wage data: the median ratio of local to national hourly wages across the ten trades this site prices.

Drawing rules

Every chart on a page shares one axis unless its caption says otherwise. Bars are drawn from zero and are never truncated. Full method →

Last updated: October 2026

Estimates, not quotes. These cost estimates are based on aggregated data from public sources. Actual costs vary by project scope, contractor, and local conditions. Always obtain multiple written quotes from licensed professionals. This site sells nothing, lists no contractors and takes no payment for placement. Methodology →

Cost data last updated: October 2026